Archive for April 9th, 2015

Some quick notes!

April 9, 2015

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
April 8, 2015

My computer’s been repaired. There’s a story in that, which I’ll get to later.

Also, the next few weeks are going to be a little hectic. Beginning tomorrow, I’ll be seeing about a dozen movies at the Full Frame Documentary Film Festival. After that, I’ve got a roughly weeklong trip coming up. Only following that will things begin to settle back to quote-unquote normal.

I’ve fallen behind a bit on my reviewing. The other week, I finished reading Frederick Reiken’s excellent Day for Night; in February, close readers may recall, I wrote about his earlier novel, The Lost Legends of New Jersey. And I’m in the middle of reading Margaret Atwood’s apocalyptic 2009 novel, The Year of the Flood. It’s well-written and compelling, but it’s also disturbing. That’s due to what happens to the book’s characters (and to its world at large) as well as to what Atwood is saying about how our species is treating planet Earth.

I’ll share my thoughts on both books at length at…well, at some point in the future. In the interim, I’m going to try to blog about most if not all of the documentaries I see at Full Frame, so brace for a bunch of film posts.

A few more notes about this here blog

April 9, 2015

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
April 9, 2015

Time to update my standard blog disclaimer!

In November 2012, I wrote the following:

With some exceptions noted below, I have not requested or received any free items to be reviewed on MEMwrites; nor do I plan to request any. The blog is an entirely voluntary venture for which I am receiving no financial compensation. The only reward I derive from MEMwrites is the satisfaction I get from writing and from being read.

All of the books and movies that I have been reviewing on MEMwrites have been chosen by me without any outside prompting. With some exceptions noted below, I have purchased all of the books and movies reviewed on the blog myself.

Read the rest of this entry »