Archive for May 2nd, 2015

Whimsy and seriousness: Connecting the threads, comparing World War II vs. the Los Angeles riots

May 2, 2015

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
May 2, 2015

Since I can’t stop, won’t stop making connections between different things

and since I want to keep my weekly posting tallies as high as is reasonably possible…

I just wanted to point out that one of the subjects of Friday’s post, the 1992 Los Angeles riots…

Read the rest of this entry »

Several screws loose (or altogether missing): Recapping my latest laptop misadventure

May 2, 2015

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
May 2, 2015

I almost forgot to write about my laptop meltdown. No, not that one — I’m talking about the latest one.

It happened a month ago, on a Tuesday or Wednesday night. I was just sitting down at a coffee shop when my MacBook Pro started acting screwy. Then it stopped working. Multiple attempts to restart the machine failed to get things loading properly.

I scheduled an appointment at the nearest Apple Store for the morning of Saturday, April 4. When I went in, I was told that the hardware was mostly* in order, but I appeared to have experienced a failure of my hard drive and/or the cable that connects it to the rest of the computer.

As it happened, of course, the hard drive had been replaced a few years ago, and a new connecting cable had just been installed in November. But when I raised these points with the Apple Genius, I was told that these parts and repairs were only covered by 90-day warranties. Therefore, the coverage had expired.

Read the rest of this entry »