Archive for April 5th, 2020

Covid-19 diary: Part 4

April 5, 2020

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
April 5, 2020

Between March 12, when I began quarantining myself in an attempt to slow the spread of Covid-19, and March 22, when I drove up to New York, I ventured further than two or three feet beyond my property line on only three occasions. Two of those took place on Sunday the 15th.

What’s the opposite of daring adventure? This is my tale of cringing semi-normalcy on that not-so-fateful day.

After realizing that I didn’t have enough food to eat comfortably for more than a few days, despite having stocked up sometime in the previous week, I reluctantly journeyed to a grocery store. The first one I tried, the Food Lion by Hillsborough and West Main Street in Durham, seemed to be extremely crowded based on what I could see from the parking lot. There was no way I was going to go inside.

After some vacillation, I decided to visit one of the Food Lions on the north side of town. This one was still too crowded for comfort, but, after sending some text messages, reading some new coverage of the spread of Covid-19 and psyching myself up, I decided to go in anyway.

Read the rest of this entry »