Archive for June 14th, 2017

Chronicle of a phantom gas leak

June 14, 2017

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
June 14, 2017

I was sitting in my parent’s family room with my Parental Unit and the dog Friday night when the three of us heard a chirp!

This, of course, is one of the minor nuisances of modern life: A gadget with (usually) a dying battery starts emitting plaintive noises, which will continue until either the battery (usually) is replaced or the power supply fails altogether.

When the chirp! repeated itself, I heaved a sigh and decided to go looking for the ailing device. I stood in the front hallway near the stairwell, but the detector there didn’t seem to be the source of the chirping. I went into the kitchen and held the stand-alone carbon monoxide detector to my ear, but that didn’t seem to be the origin of the noise either. I moved from spot to spot on the first floor, ears pricked, and I even went to the top of the staircase on the second floor. But the chirps kept coming, and I still couldn’t ascertain the source.

Read the rest of this entry »