Geekery: Blog statistics, part 2

March 6, 2022
Photo by Anna Nekrashevich on Pexels.com.

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
March 6, 2022

Following up on yesterday’s entry, let’s see if I can find some interesting tidbits in my spreadsheet on posts by year.

• This blog’s high-water mark came in 2015, when I put up 220 posts. That works out to 0.6 posts per day or one post every 1 day, 15 hours, 49 minutes and 5.45 seconds (1.66 days), with an average of 18.3 posts per month — all tops in those fields.

• In 2015, my most prolific month was January with 26 posts. My least prolific months were February and December with 15 entries apiece.

• My next-best number for lowest posts in a month in a particular year? Nine posts, a mark I hit three different times in 2020 (May, August and September).

• Returning to the number of posts in a given calendar year, there was a big gap between first and second places. I wrote 168 posts in 2014 (14 posts per month) and 166 in 2016 (13.8 posts per month). Fourth place saw another dropoff with 128 posts in 2020 (10.7 posts per month).

• The complete year with the fewest blog items was 2021, when I penned 113 entries. That works out to 9.4 posts per month. Last year, I posted 0.31 times a day or once every 3.23 days (3 days, 5 hours, 31 minutes and 19.65 seconds). These are all at the bottom of their respective categories.

• My prosiest months last year came in March and September, which featured 12 entries each. The month with the lowest output was August, with five posts.

• The blog debuted on June 13, 2012; by the end of that year, I’d written 94 posts, including an all-time record of 40 in December. The blog languished in its second month, July, which saw only two items, as compared to seven over part of June.

• So far, 2022 has the fewest posts with 21, not including this one. At 0.33 posts per day, this works out to one post every 3 days, 1 hour, 8 minutes and 34.29 seconds (3.05 days). Of course, we’re not even a quarter of the way through the calendar.

• Over the nearly decade-long existence of this blog, my median number of annual posts is 125, which was my level of production in 2015.

• In some ways, 2017 was very representative. That year, I posted 126 times, with 10.5 posts per month[1] and 0.35 posts per day. Those latter two values are medians, as is 2017’s average time elapsed between posts of 2 days, 21 hours, 31 minutes and 25.71 seconds (2.9 days).

• My high and low outputs for 2017 were fairly close to one another. I wrote 13 entries in February and eight in August. This difference, five posts, is the lowest in the blog’s history. It matches the high-low gap in 2020, when I wrote 14 posts in December and, as mentioned above, nine posts in three different months.

I’ve got one last type of analysis to do: By month of the year (January, February and so on). We’ll get to that shortly.

To be concluded continued


Footnotes

1. My spreadsheet is somewhat inconsistent in the way it tallies months. It counts 2012 as having had seven months, because I started the blog in mid-June, but it counts 2022 as having two, despite my posting across all or part of three months. Right now, 2017 is tied with 2022 for 10.5 posts per month. Because of this issue, the median value for posts per month could change as soon as this, the 22nd post of the year, hits the Internet. Smoothing out this wrinkle will likely require some tinkering, but this is such a minor issue that I don’t expect to address it anytime soon; frankly, I may never attempt to fix it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.