Archive for August 17th, 2021

Vignette: The acrobatic fall

August 17, 2021

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
Aug. 17, 2021

On Friday, July 23, I went to the Fews Ford section of Eno River State Park in Eastern Orange County, North Carolina. I’d visited the Fews Ford access area once previously this summer, hiking Cox Mountain Trail and Fannys Ford Trail on the south side of the river. This time, I wanted to hike the ground to the north.

I wound up covering 8.26 miles over roughly two hours and 25 minutes for an average pace of 17 minutes and 36 seconds per mile. I listened to The Left Hand of Darkness for a great deal of my ramble.

It would take a lot of words to list the trails that I took on the 23rd. The north side has a real hodgepodge of routes, and the way they’re presented on the park map is a bit confusing. Suffice to say that I went as far west along the river as I could before doubling back and heading north into the forested hills.

Read the rest of this entry »