Archive for August 13th, 2021

Shedding a little more light on bathroom height

August 13, 2021

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
Aug. 13, 2021

On Thursday night, I had a conversation with my parent that shed new light on my dimensional bathroom issues.

My parental unit had the two and a half bathrooms in P.U.’s home redone recently… 2019, we think it was. (P.U. was not sure of the date when I asked; it may have been done in 2018.) During the renovations, P.U. specified that all of the bathroom vanities were to be kitchen-counter height. And that’s what happened.

My parent was motivated to make the change because P.U. noticed how much bending was required with the old vanities. Apparently, lots and lots of bathroom vanities are lower than kitchen counters, although people now seem to prefer higher vanities.

In my residence in Durham, as noted on Tuesday, the top of the vanity is about 30 inches from the ground, while the tops of the kitchen counters are roughly three feet high.

As I wrote on Tuesday, “It makes a huge difference.” 

Read the rest of this entry »