Archive for March 11th, 2021

Vignette: Saturday walk with temporarily stuck man

March 11, 2021

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
March 11, 2021

I’ve been desperate for exercise during the pandemic. Most days, it’s the only thing that motivates me to leave the house.

The more I walk, the more I long to see new scenery. Sometimes I’ll spend five or 10 minutes poring over maps in search of a novel route.

On Thursday, March 4, I drove to Penny’s Bend Nature Preserve as part of my project to hike the length of the Eno River here in Durham County. (More about that in another blog post.) En route, I noticed that most of East Carver Street is flanked by sidewalks.

On Saturday the 6th, I set out to tread upon those sidewalks. I took Broad Street north from my house; went east on the westernmost portion of West Murray Avenue, on which I rarely travel because it has relatively high traffic and lacks sidewalks; cut up a residential road, Wilbon Street; walked north on North Duke Street; turned right and followed Stadium Drive until it ends at Rock Quarry Park; and turned left on Olympic Avenue, a short road that lies along one side of Duke Regional Hospital.

Read the rest of this entry »