Archive for April 6th, 2017

March 25, 2017, mall Scrabble recap, part 1

April 6, 2017

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
April 6, 2017

It’s mall Scrabble recap time again!

The March 25 tournament in Durham was the smallest Scrabble event in which I’ve ever participated; the event had one division of 12 players, whose starting ratings ranged from as high as 1622 to as low as 460. My opening rating was 918, which snagged me a ninth seed.

I began play against B.T., the fifth seed (rating 1120). Going second, I took an early lead with my first play, XI/XU/IT 36, but I lost my third turn for unwisely challenging HOO 22, which is valid (it’s an obsolete variant of the interjection ho). Later, I jumped back ahead, 128-98, after using an S and the triple-word-score space in the lower-left corner to make ZEST/AIDES 53. Later still, after B.T. had narrowed my lead to 154-151, I gave myself some padding with a 46-point play, QuIRT, which spotted the Q on a double-letter score space and the T on a double-word score space.

Read the rest of this entry »

