More walking notes (in which I get in some gloating while I still can)

May 24, 2016

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
May 24, 2016

As regular readers know, I’ve had a few informal walking competitions this year with my Parental Unit and my niece. But, using the theory that life is a competition, there has been an ongoing contest amongst us ever since my niece acquired her Fitbit. And currently, I’m pleased to announce, I am in first place.

The reason for this is simple, and wholly unsurprising: It turns out that caring for an energetic dog entails a whole bunch of walking.

As noted in my previous post, my parent recently flew west to visit my niece and her family, and I am dog-sitting. On Wednesday, the day of P.U.’s departure, when I didn’t handle the morning walk, I got in 11,080 steps. The following day my motion tracker counted 12,839 steps. I topped 15,000 on each of the following two days before falling just shy of that mark on both Sunday and Monday.

And so, as of this writing, my app says that I lead the other two people in my Fitbit network thanks to my accumulating 91,243 steps over the past week. My parent has 70,349 and I have 59,129.

In your face, dear relatives!

Unfortunately, now that my parent has returned, a lot of the dog-walking responsibilities will revert to dear old P.U. But I’ll try to enjoy this brief moment of glory while it lasts.

Leave a Reply

