Patented Pundit Scorecard™ No. 2: I was wrong, wrong, WRONG about Donald Trump

February 26, 2016

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
Feb. 26, 2016

In November, I introduced a feature exclusive to this blog: the Patented Pundit Scorecard™. I am now pleased to roll out the second edition of the PPS™.

When Donald Trump declared that he was seeking the Republican Party nomination as a candidate for president of the United States, I was extremely skeptical about his chances of winning. In fact, early on, I decided that Trump wouldn’t even win a single primary or caucus. I put out a marker to that effect with this August 2015 tweet.

Well, guess what, ladies and germs? I was wrong, wrong, wrong about Trump’s likelihood of succeeding at the ballot box. In this, I was hardly alone: It seems that about 99.9 percent of those who regularly opine about politics through mass-media print, broadcasting and digital outlets doubted that Trump could get the nomination.

I’m now batting .333 on the Patented Pundit Scorecard™, with one correct prediction and two incorrect predictions. (Arguably, I should award myself with an extra incorrect mark for being so completely wrong about Trump’s popularity at the polls — but I’ll refrain, because I’m such a nice guy.)

The fact that I have company in misery is cold comfort to me, given that Trump now appears to be the odds-on favorite to clinch the nomination. After four contests, the Donald has 81 delegates, more than twice as many as the next three candidates combined. Cruz and Rubio have 17 apiece while Kasich has six, bringing their cumulative total to 40 delegates.

RealClearPolitics’s polling averages peg Trump as a favorite by at least six percentage points in six of the seven largest states that will hold primaries on March 1. Cruz leads in Texas, which he represents in the U.S. Senate, and Arkansas; Dr. Ben Carson leads in Arkansas and Colorado, which evidently has only been polled once, in November; Trump is favored in Georgia, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Alabama, Virginia and Tennessee.

In closing, I leave you with this:

I’m sure our forefathers would be very proud.

Leave a Reply

