Rambling rum cake rumination

February 19, 2016

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
Feb. 19, 2016

On Wednesday night, I ordered a slice of rum cake to go from one of the coffee shops that I frequent.

I forgot about it that evening when I went home to make and consume my dinner, but the slice came to mind when I made lunch on Thursday. I pulled it out, and grabbed a fork and plate.

Here’s the thing, though: I don’t like rum. By extension, unfortunately, that means that I don’t like rum cake, either.

The plain-old-cake parts of the rum cake were fine, as were the raisins. But the rum-drenched parts of the rum cake had an unappetizing taste. I consumed about two-thirds of the slice before deciding that I didn’t like the burning sensation inside my chest that had been touched off by the rum. I put the remainder of the slice into the refrigerator.

I’ve never been a big drinker; in particular, I’ve never been much for cocktails or liquor. Chocolates or sweets containing liqueur have never been my cup of tea.

So in the future, please, bear this in mind when you’re baking: Keep the alcohol away from my dessert concoctions. Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

