The neglected glass of water, the kitchen table and the confused doggie

January 26, 2016

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
Jan. 26, 2016

I visited Ye Olde Parental Home, a.k.a. YOPH, in late December and early January. In a phone conversation with my Parental Unit yesterday, I was told an anecdote which I found amusing, and which relates to that visit, and which I herein communicate to you, the valued reader of the MEMwrites blog.

When I departed the house this month, I apparently left a glass of water sitting on what I will call the kitchen table. This piece of furniture is rarely used when company is absent from YOPH, and so my parent left the glass there for two weeks or so.

However, the other day, my parent was using the table to (apparently) do some paperwork. At one point, the Parental Unit made a sweeping motion with an arm, inadvertently knocking over the glass and getting water everywhere. My parent, surprised and angered, shouted out my name: Matthew!

The family dog, Lucky the yellow Labrador retriever, heard this and perked up. Was Matthew here? When did he arrive? Where is he? She started searching the house for one of her favorite people. He’s not on the first floor. I’ll check his bedroom. He’s not there either. Where is he? Where’s Matthew?

I wasn’t there, of course, but it was adorable that she thought so. Confused dogs can be so cute!

Leave a Reply

