Blogging: Here’s where I’m at (and here’s what’s coming up)

August 12, 2015

By Matthew E. Milliken
MEMwrites.wordpress.com
Aug. 12, 2015

So I’ve returned from my big trip. I managed to keep my blogging pace up… almost… mostly by dint of posting three times on Saturday (which was two days after my return).

Just to set the stage for the next few weeks…

While on vacation, I finished reading Margaret Atwood’s moving 2009 post-apocalyptic tale, The Year of the Flood, which I’d actually begun in late March. (I took several long breaks because the novel is full of darkness and foreboding.) I also completed Ariel Djanikian’s excellent 2013 dystopian science fiction novel, The Office of Mercy (which arguably might be better labeled post-apocalyptic). Reviews of these will be forthcoming.

So will a review of Yann Arthus-Bertrand’s beautifully shot 2009 environmental documentary, Home, which I watched the night after my return to Durham.

But the next two or so posts are likely to be devoted to cards, as I had some strong finishes in local World Tavern Poker championship events.

Also on the horizon, at some point: A post on my recent bicycling follies, which, fortunately, have been less injurious than my 2014 bicycling follies.

With that, please enjoy, please share links to posts that you enjoy, and please comment on posts that you like — or that you find intriguing, or that you believe to be entirely, irredeemably wrong-headed!

As always, thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

