185 add title-category-keywords-text

January 17, 2014

By Matthew E. Milliken MEMwrites.wordpress.com Jan. 17,
2014 Let me start off with this: Right from the start, I’ve had
mixed feelings about the rebooted Star
Trek
enterprise. (Sorry, I couldn’t resist the
pun.) One reason for this, of course, involves the cast: William
Shatner, Leonard Nimoy, the late DeForest Kelley, George
Takei, Nichelle Nichols and all the rest of the cast of the
original Star Trek portrayed their
characters throughout three TV seasons and six feature films. The
thought of seeing different people play Captain James T. Kirk,
Spock, Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy, Hikaru Sulu, Nyota Uhura and the
others is just — well, it’s
frankly weird. I first became aware of
the original Star Trek when I was a
child, and I still vividly remember the excitement that surrounded
the release of the first several Star
Trek
movies. It’s a stretch to say I grew up with
these characters, whose adventures I also followed throughout a
number of original novels — but not a huge one. When
producer-director J.J. Abrams assembled his cast for the 2009
reboot, titled simply Star Trek, he came
up with an interesting group. As Kirk, Chris Pine has something of
the charisma of the young Shatner. Zachary Quinto seems to be a
fine actor, but I frequently think that he has the wrong voice (too
high-pitched) and nose (not angular enough) for Spock. Karl Urban
(a New Zealander,
natch) and Zoe Saldana capture some of the essence of McCoy and
Uhura, respectively, even though I find Urban’s gruff intonation
cartoonish and grating.

There’s nothing wrong per se with how Simon Pegg plays
chief engineering officer Montgomery Scott; I do find myself upset,
however, with how his character is mostly used for comic relief.
Similarly, I have no problem with Anton Yelchin, but I find
the new Chekov (who was perhaps the least
essential Star Trek regular to begin
with) supremely annoying. Interestingly, although John Cho has
perhaps the least physical resemblance to his original series
counterpart of any new cast member, in some ways, I think his
navigator Sulu may be most true to the spirit of the man first
embodied by Takei. Again, however, this may not be attributable so
much to Cho’s performance as to how well the writers have captured
the character. =

Leave a Reply

