A few short notes about this here blog

November 26, 2012

Hello, dear readers.

Apropos of very little, I wanted to offer a few notes about this blog.

With some exceptions noted below, I have not requested or received any free items to be reviewed on MEMwrites; nor do I plan to request any. The blog is an entirely voluntary venture for which I am receiving no financial compensation. The only reward I derive from MEMwrites is the satisfaction I get from writing and from being read.

All of the books and movies that I have been reviewing on MEMwrites have been chosen by me without any outside prompting. With some exceptions noted below, I have purchased all of the books and movies reviewed on the blog myself.

Now, about those exceptions: Some of the items I’ve written about were borrowed from the Durham County Library, the free public library here in Durham, N.C. A number of the movies I’ve reviewed were streamed through the Crackle website, crackle.com, which is a free service. Since starting this blog, all of my dealings with both the library and Crackle have been conducted as a typical patron; I’ve had no special contact with officials or administrators of either organization.

I initially planned to post daily on this blog, but I found that pace a little hard to maintain. My revised goal is to have a new entry for each business day, with perhaps an extra post or two thrown in on the odd occasion.

Most of my entries have concerned books or movies, with one notable exception being a post about Stanford football. I plan to branch out a bit, with more writing on sports, politics and other current issues and events of note. But in all likelihood, my work will continue to skew heavily toward reviews of books and movies.

Let me know if you have any questions about MEMwrites by commenting below. If you like any particular blog entry, by all means leave a comment on that post. And if you’re moved to link to or otherwise spread the word about MEMwrites, that would be great.

That’s it for now. Please keep reading, folks, and take care!

Leave a Reply

