Happy Thanksgiving! Here’s a list of what I’m thankful for today…

November 22, 2012

Have a very happy Thanksgiving, readers!

Here are some things for which I’m thankful today:

• My health.

• My family: Dearly departed members, older members, middle-aged-ish members, younger members and dog members!

• My nation: The United States of America, be it right or be it wrong. This country is imperfect in many ways, and still it is also glorious in many ways. America does not yet fully live up to our ideals of freedom and justice for all, but it can be argued that our nation comes closer than any other place that is or ever has been on this great planet. When reporters carry word of places where innocents die violently, the rule of law is absent or badly corrupted and the will of the people is suborned to small and powerful groups, I am reminded how privileged I am to be an American citizen.

• My planet: Earth and its many varied and beautiful environments, flora and fauna. Humans have not always been wise or great stewards, but we have made some strides for the better. I hope that we will have a safe and beautiful place to pass on to many, many future generations.

• My fellow Americans: Soldiers, sailors and marines; police officers and fire fighters; utility workers. These are the unknown heroes who keep our country safe. Thank you all for your service, especially when duty calls you away from home and hearth or when it sends you in harm’s way on days when many of the rest of us get to enjoy time relaxing with our family.

• My school: It’s a great time to be a fan of Leland Stanford Junior University and its many marvelous Cardinal teams, the football squad not least among them. Hail, Stanford, hail; Go Stanford; and #GoStanford!

• My friends.

Enjoy your holiday, folks!

Leave a Reply

